18335634

Synopsis:

Danger and betrayal, love and loss, secrets and enchantment are woven together in the breathtaking finale to the #1 New York Times bestselling Infernal Devices Trilogy, prequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series.

THE INFERNAL DEVICES WILL NEVER STOP COMING

A net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. Mortmain plans to use his Infernal Devices, an army of pitiless automatons, to destroy the Shadowhunters. He needs only one last item to complete his plan: he needs Tessa Gray.

Charlotte Branwell, head of the London Institute, is desperate to find Mortmain before he strikes. But when Mortmain abducts Tessa, the boys who lay equal claim to her heart, Jem and Will, will do anything to save her. For though Tessa and Jem are now engaged, Will is as much in love with her as ever.

As those who love Tessa rally to rescue her from Mortmain’s clutches, Tessa realizes that the only person who can save her is herself. But can a single girl, even one who can command the power of angels, face down an entire army?

Danger and betrayal, secrets and enchantment, and the tangled threads of love and loss intertwine as the Shadowhunters are pushed to the very brink of destruction in the breathtaking conclusion to the Infernal Devices trilogy.”

Review:

I have a lot of mixed feelings about this book.

I will say that for the most part, I did enjoy this book. I think it was a great conclusion to this trilogy and wrapped up this story arc really well. However, I also had a good amount of problems with it as well.

With this series, I have had a lot of mixed feelings about Tessa as a main character. In the first book, I wasn’t a huge fan of her at first during the first couple of books but eventually I did start to like her. This book started out the same way but everything changed after that. I felt like she was less independent in this book. I feel like all of the actions and decisions that she made in this book were all in the name of her love for Jem. I liked it at first but as the book went on, I honestly could have cared less for her.

As far as Will and Jem, these two characters are still my favorite in this series.. They both played big roles in this series and I will definitely count them as some of my favorite bookish characters of all time.

As far as the romance aspects of this book, I think there was a little too much incorporated into the story. It wasn’t bad at all, don’t get me wrong. However, I feel like it overpowered the rest of the plot. I went back and forth with who I wanted Tessa to end up with for this entire series but I was very happy that she ended up with Will in the end. Even though I would have been happy with whoever she ended up with in the end, but I do think that Tessa and Will were meant to be together.

As far as the plot, like I say with all of these books, I think that it was the strongest part of this book (and series in general). This author has a great way to write amazing, action packed plots. To be honest, the plots of her books are the only thing that are keeping me interested in reading the Shawdowhunter books. This book was no exception. Like I said, it was action packed right up until the end, I had plot twists all over the place. I did find it slow at times but overall, I couldn’t be happier with the way this series ended.

Overall, this book was a great conclusion to this series. Even though there were quite a few problems that I had with it, overall I was impressed. I know that I have said this before, but I think this series is SO much better than the Mortal Instruments series. It was everything that I wanted in a great YA paranormal book and I couldn’t be happier.

RATING: 4/5