35721194

Synopsis:

“CAN LOVE FLOURISH WHEN SURROUNDED BY

DECEPTION AND INTRIGUE?

A LUSH AND ENTHRALLING REIMAGINING OF

THE CLASSIC JANE EYRE SET AMONG THE STARS.

Stella Ainsley leaves poverty behind she quits her engineering job aboard the Stalwart to become a governess on a private ship. On the Rochester, there’s no water ration, more books than one person could devour in a lifetime, and an AI who seems more friend than robot.

But no one warned Stella that the ship seems to be haunted, nor that it may be involved in a conspiracy that could topple the entire interstellar fleet. Surrounded by mysteries, Stella forges a warm connection with the brooding but kind nineteen-year-old Captain Hugo. But as they grow closer, his unpredictable behavior causes suspicions to mount. Without knowing who to trust, Stella must decide whether to follow her head or her heart.

Alexa Donne’s breathtaking debut will seduce and beguile you, a story perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Amie Kaufman.

 Review:

*I received an Advanced Readers Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review for the publisher. This book comes out on May 1st, 2018. All opinions stated are my own.*

This book was a great debut novel.

After finishing this book, I am still in shock about how much I enjoyed it.

As someone who didn’t particularly enjoy the original Jane Eyre story, I had no idea what to expect going in. All I knew about it was that it was a reimagining of that original story but set in space.

It took my breathe away.

Starting off with the characters, all of them were pretty interesting. Stella was everything that was missing in the character of Jane in the original story. Independent. Willing to do whatever she needed to get what she wanted. But also compassionate. A fantastic female lead.

I did also enjoy the character of Captain Hugo. Again he was everything that the character of Mr. Rochester had been missing in the original story (at least in my opinion). He was caring. Would do everything in his power to protect the ones he loved most. Just another fantastic character.

As far as the romance aspects of this book, I wasn’t the biggest fan of them. I hadn’t been the biggest fan of the romance in the original story so in the back of my head, I had a feeling that it would be the same way in this book. I will say that in this book the romance is a little more insta-lovey but at the same time I enjoyed it more than the original. Though it was insta-lovey, the relationship between Hugo and Stella definitely grew at a steady pace that was perfect for my personal liking. It was cute and I did really like it for the most part.

Finally, diving into the plot, this is where I had some issues. Though it was enjoyable, I found it be either too slow for my personal or I would be just very confused on what was going on. Thankfully by the end of the book, all those problems were resolved and I was able to feel enjoyment in it once again.

Overall, I think this was a great book. I loved how the author put her own spin on the original story but at the same time, had elements that coincided with it that fans of the original story would be able to recognize. It is still shocking to me that this is a debut novel.

Once again, thank you so much to the publisher HMH Teen for sending me a copy of this book and working with me to bring it to you guys! Be sure to pick it up when it hits selves on May 1st, 2018!

RATING: 4/5

Advertisements