12127810

Synopsis:

At the conclusion of The Mark of Athena, Annabeth and Percy tumble into a pit leading straight to the Underworld. The other five demigods have to put aside their grief and follow Percy’s instructions to find the mortal side of the Doors of Death. If they can fight their way through the Gaea’s forces, and Percy and Annabeth can survive the House of Hades, then the Seven will be able to seal the Doors both sides and prevent the giants from raising Gaea. But, Leo wonders, if the Doors are sealed, how will Percy and Annabeth be able to escape?

They have no choice. If the demigods don’t succeed, Gaea’s armies will never die. They have no time. In about a month, the Romans will march on Camp Half-Blood. The stakes are higher than ever in this adventure that dives in the depths of Tartarus.”

Review:

THIS WAS MY FAVORITE BOOK IN THIS SERIES. BY FAR.

I absolutely loved this book. It was FANTASTIC.

Of all of the books that I have read by Rick Riordan so far, this had been my favorite so far. Everything that happened in this book was everything that I had been looking for throughout the first three books.

First of all, we got so much travel in this book. We had Jason, Leo, Piper, Hazel, and Frank making their way around Rome and the rest of the Mediterranean to find the Doors of Death. Then we had Percy and Annabeth making their way through Tartarus to the Doors of Death. I think that I enjoyed the scenes where it was mostly Percy and Annabeth. That was mostly because of where the setting was. For some reason, I absolutely love reading books that have to do with either the Underworld or Hell. Why? I have no idea but I really enjoy reading those kinds of settings (I’m starting to think this is why I love dystopian books so much!)

My favorite character in this book by far was Nico. Since I read the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series last year, I have always liked Nico as a character. I thought that following him primarily in the third book, The Titan’s Curse, as he is discovering that he is a demigod and figuring out who he godly parent was, Hades (once again with the Underworld thing). Then we get to this book and he really develops as a character. His true character really truly starts to show in this book. Even though he didn’t play a huge role in this book, the things that he did play a major part in just put a smile on my face.

When it was discovered that Nico was in love with Percy, I was shocked but happy at the same time. I had always thought that he had a crush on Annabeth, but in a way I think that him coming out as someone who is part of the LGBTQ+ community was really important to this series. People are always saying that books in today’s society need more representation and, even though this is older series it has plenty of representation in it.

The plot of this book was great. Once again, we got to see our characters travel more than ever before. Lots of great action scenes (which I felt was missing throughout the first three books). Not a ton of romantic scenes. It was just a great, action packed, page-turner that I couldn’t put down.

Overall, this was one book that is probably going to make my top books of the year this year. It was just so good. My favorite book in the series so far (and probably my favorite book by this author). I am currently reading the last book in this series, The Blood of Olympus, and I’m enjoying it so far and can’t wait to see how this series wraps up!

RATING: 5/5

 

 

