27222034

Synopsis:

Caeli Crys isn’t living—she’s surviving. On the run after the genocide of her empathic people, she witnesses a spaceship crash near her hidden camp. When she feels the injured pilot suffering from miles away, she can’t help but risk discovery to save his life.

Commander Derek Markham awakens stranded on an uncharted planet. His co-pilot is dead, his ship is in ruins, and he’s only alive because a beautiful young woman is healing him with her mind.

As Derek recovers, Caeli shares the horror of her past and her fear for the future. When Derek’s command ship, Horizon, sends rescue, Derek convinces Caeli to leave with him. But his world is as treacherous as hers—full of spies, interplanetary terrorist plots, and political intrigue. Soon the Horizon team is racing to defend an outlying planet from a deadly enemy, and Caeli’s unique skills may just give them the edge they need to save it.”

Review:

I think that this book was a great starting book to a series.

This was pitched to me as a dystopian book but it felt more like a Science Fiction novel, which is perfectly fine with me. There was some dystopian elements in it, but not to many for it to be consider a dystopian in my opi.

ion.

I did really like the world building in this book. It was a very interesting take on a science fiction environment. It kind of reminded me somewhat of Star Trek.  As a huge fan of anything involving the Science Fiction genre, this book was one that capture my attention all throughout.

I did really like both of the main characters in this book. I really liked Caeli’s personality and I enjoyed reading from her perspective. I also enjoyed Derek’s character. He too had a really great perspective to read from. Both of their personalities really mashed together very well. I’m really interested to see their character’s develop throughout the rest of this series.

As far as the romance between Derek and Caeli, i honestly was not a huge fan of it. It kind of felt very insta-lovey and that is one of my biggest pet peeves in books. Hopefully as the series goes on that it will feel less like that.

As far as the plot, it took me quite a while to get fully invested in it. I really did enjoy, however, like I said previously, it took me a while to really get into it. I think that if the author had started off with what happened before the characters met, I would have enjoyed it more than the plot kind of going back and forth between those two time periods.

Overall, this was great starting novel to a series. The second book in the series just came out last month so I am definitely going to pick it up soon.

RATING: 3.5/5

