34237556

Synopsis:

“The recipe for a warm and humorous story…

In a modest bowl of Nashville, gently place a girl who is Country music, Bible belt, and a Steakhouse foodie.

Then add a surprise portion of exotic and handsome Anglo Indian, who is a passionate Bollywood director, vegetarian and Hindu.

Stir vigorously on a bed of intense attraction.

At first, the ingredients will seem to clash and separate.

Keep stirring…

Include a dollop of jealous boyfriend and a meddling mother.

Splash in a serving of fun and mischievous friends. Keep stirring…

Add a dash of crazy aunt and a minister father to keep the flavors working together.

Sprinkle in even more complicated family members to taste.

Cook on high emotions.

The secret ingredient that cuts through the sweetness is a final layer of shocking revelation that adds a surprising depth of flavor.

Finish with a twist of ‘Oh My God! Is she really going to do that?’.

Serve as tasty bite-size chapters in a novel dish of mayhem and madness with a side of Country music and Bollywood dancing.”

Review:

*I received this book as an Advanced Readers Copy from Net Galley. All opinions stated are my own.*

I think that this book was a really great book to kick off the summer.

When I was approved for an early copy of this book by the author, I honestly had no idea what to expect. I’m personally not a huge contemporary fiction reader but I really enjoyed how the author wrote this particular book was very well done.

I really enjoyed all of the characters in this book. I liked Mary as a main character. She had a really great personality that I feel like I haven’t seen in contemporary fiction. I also really enjoyed her interaction with her family. All characters in this novel are really well done.

As far as the romance, I have kind of mixed feelings about it. I really enjoyed the relationship between Mary Simha overall but on occasion I did find it kind of cheesy. At the beginning of the book I felt that it seemed kind of like insta-love but I grew to really enjoy it as the book went on.

I also really enjoyed that we had quite a bit of diversity and representation we had in this book. We had the character of Simha who happened to be from India. We also had an LGBTQ+ couple in this book. I’m always look for books with representation so I’m glad that this book had that put in.

The were only a couple of things that kind of bugged me about this book. First, it kind of took me a while to really invested in the story. Also, the plot was somewhat predictable at times.

Overall this was a great book to kick off my summer contemporary reads. I think that if you guys enjoy really cute, adult contemporary books than you should definitely pick this book up when it hits selves this August!

RATING: 3/5

