18584855

Synopsis:

“Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a women who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.”

Review:

Once again, Marissa Meyer has dissapointed me with one of her books.

I thought that after reading Cinder (the first book in the Lunar Chronicles) last year and not liking it at all (you can check out my full review for it here.) I thought that I would give this book a chance.

When this book first came out last December, it was getting a lot of great reviews and everyone on BookTube was just loving it. I love Alice in Wonderland so I thought that this would much more up my ally than the Lunar Chronicles ever was.

Man was I wrong.

First of all, this didn’t feel like an Alice in Wonderland retelling at all. I thought the world building didn’t feel like Wonderland at all. I know that Wonderland is supposed to be a really weird place in general but comparing this story to the original, I felt like I was reading a whole different tale.

As far as the characters, I couldn’t really connect with any of them. Cath was a great character but she never really captured my attention. I thought she needed to be more independent and didn’t really need some of the other characters to make decisions for her (especially as far as the romance.) I did really like her character development towards the end of the book when she was going into the evil Queen of Hearts that we all know and love. Overall, Cath just needed to be written a lot better.

The romance between Cath and Jest drove me nuts. I was not a fan of it at all. I think that if their romance had been introduced at the beginning of the book, I probably would have enjoyed it more. But I think that the course of their relationship was so predictable. From the minute that we truly see them fall in love, I pretty much knew that Jest was going to die towards the end of the book. I also thought that their romance very inst-lovey. It could have been done so much better.

I found the plot of this book was extremely slow. I found myself getting very bored at certain points (especially the middle 200 or so pages). I’m honestly very surprised that I even finished this book because everything that I didn’t like in this book, I had similar problems with the previous book I have read by this author.

Overall, this book was just disappointing. I tried so hard to like this book but as much as I tried, I just could not get into it. I think that I may give this author one more try when she comes out with a new novel because I do really enjoy her writing style. Hopefully, I’ll enjoy it more.

RATING 2/5

