9520360

Synopsis:

Seven half-bloods shall answer the call,
To storm or fire the world must fall.
An oath to keep with a final breath,
And foes bear arms to the Doors of Death.

Percy is confused. When he awoke from his long sleep, he didn’t know much more than his name. His brain fuzz is lingering, even after the wolf Lupa told him he is a demigod and trained him to fight with the pen/sword in his pocket. Somehow Percy manages to make it to a camp for half-bloods, despite the fact that he has to keep killing monsters along the way. But the camp doesn’t ring any bells with him. The only thing he can recall from his past is another name: Annabeth

Hazel is supposed to be dead. When she lived before, she didn’t do a very good job of it. Sure, she was an obedient daughter, even when her mother was possessed by greed. But that was the problem — when the Voice took over her mother and commanded Hazel to use her “gift” for an evil purpose, Hazel couldn’t say no. Now because of her mistake, the future of the world is at risk. Hazel wished she could ride away from it all on the stallion that appears in her dreams.

Frank is a klutz. His grandmother says he is descended from heroes and can be anything he wants to be, but he doesn’t see it. He doesn’t even know who his father is. He keeps hoping Apollo will claim him, because the only thing he is good at is archery — although not good enough to win camp war games. His bulky physique makes him feel like an ox, especially in front of Hazel, his closest friend at camp. He trusts her completely — enough to share the secret he holds close to his heart.

Beginning at the “other” camp for half-bloods and extending as far as the land beyond the gods, this breathtaking second installment of the Heroes of Olympus series introduces new demigods, revives fearsome monsters, and features other remarkable creatures, all destined to play a part in the Prophesy of Seven.”

Review:

Once again, Rick Riordan didn’t let me down in this book.

I think that this was a great follow up to the first book in this series The Lost Hero. It filled a lot of the plot holes that I found in the first book.

I was so glad to see Percy back in the story. When I read the first book in this series and discovered that he had went missing, I spent the entire book wondering where he was. I wanted to know where he was right there and then. Once we discovered that he had been in California at Camp Jupiter all that time, I wanted to see the events leading up to that from his perspective. I got all of those things in this book. Seeing Percy’s character development from what he was like in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series to now was fantastic. I can’t wait to see him develop more as a character as the series continues.

I also really liked Frank and Hazel as characters. I wasn’t the biggest fan of them at the beginning of the book, but as the story went on I grew to enjoy them more and more. I was also very pleased to see that they were diverse characters. Hazel was an African-American character who grew up in Louisiana and Frank was Chinese and grew up in Canada. I think that they are characters that I’m going to enjoy more and more as the series goes on. They were both very interesting characters and I want to know more about them.

With pretty much all of the Rick Riordan books that I have read so far, my favorite aspect of all them has been the traveling aspects of them. In the original Percy Jackson series we mostly traveled in the U.S.. Now in this series, we are still traveling quite a bit in the U.S. but also to some other countries like Canada. I have heard that we might be going to Rome and Greece sometime in the future so that is something that I will be looking forward to.

The plot of this book was even better than the first book (which is the case with most books written by Rick Riordan). I loved how we got to know the backgrounds of Hazel and Frank. I loved the action (which I thought was lacking in the first book.) There was a ton of the great humor that I loved in the first series. Overall, it was just a pleasurable experience to read.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I am really enjoy learning about Roman mythology and I can’t wait to learn more about it. Being back in this world that the author has created is always a pleasure. I can’t wait to continue with the series.

RATING: 4.5/5

 

