30375703

Synopsis:

“Princess.

Captive.

Gladiator.

Fallon is the daughter of a proud Celtic king, the sister of the legendary warrior Sorcha, and the sworn enemy of Julius Caesar.

When Fallon was a child, Caesar armies invaded her homeland, and her beloved sister was killed in battle.

Now, on the eve of her seventeenth birthday, Fallon is eager to follow in her sister’s footsteps and earn her place in the fearsome Cantii war band. She never gets the chance.

Fallon is captured and sold to an elite training school for female gladiators-owned by none other than Julius Caesar. In a cruel twists of fate, the man who shattered Fallon’s family might be her only hope of survival.

Now Fallon must overcome vicious rivalries and deadly fights-in and out of the arena. And perhaps the most dangerous threat of all: her forbidden yet irresistible feelings for Cai, a young Roman soldier.

A richly imagined historical fantasy for fans of Robin LaFevers and Sarah J. Maas, The Valiant recounts Fallon’s tumultuous journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire.”

Review:

I have very mixed feelings about this book.

I did enjoy this book but also, at the same time, there were quite a few aspects of it that I wasn’t a huge fan of.

I enjoyed Fallon as a main character. I think she had a quite a few kick-ass qualities that I love to look for in a well written main character. I liked her personality. I think she was a very interesting perspective to read from. She had very few flaws. Overall, I really liked her character.

I also liked the aspect of female friendship in this book. This is one things that I wish authors would include in their books more often. I really think the friendship between Fallon and Elka in this book played a huge role in how the rest of the book went.

As far as the romance aspects of this book, I really don’t know what to think about them. I loved the romance between Mael and Fallon at the beginning of the book. I think that if it was just a romance between those two characters, I probably would have the romance aspects better than I actually did. But of course, that was not the case. It broke my heart when Mael was killed. Then we had the romance between Fallon and Cai. I did not like this romance. At all. I felt too rushed as well as kind of forced in my opinion. Overall, the romances in this book were just not for me.

The biggest thing about this book that I didn’t like was some points in the plot. When I started reading this book I was very invested in the story. However, over time, the plot just went downhill for me. I lost interest about half way through the book but after awhile my interest picked back up and by the time the book ended I was ready for sequel.

Overall, my thoughts on this book are very mixed. Even so, I do plan on continuing on with the series when the next book comes out. Hopefully I enjoy that book more than I did this book.

RATING: 3.5/5

I’m a book depository affiliate and I will receive a small commission if you guys use my link to purchase this book!

Advertisements